If you have come to this page from a search engine click here to visit our home page.

Veteran CDs        Veteran Mail Order


Donegal & Back!

Songs, ballads & whistle tunes from


Packie Byrne

(click on the artistes name to see a photo and /or a short biography)


Packie Manus Byrne was born in 1917 on a small isolated farm in rural Donegal. He learned songs from his family and relatives as well as from other local singers. In those days It was not unusual to have a soot-blackened fiddle hanging over the hearth in the kitchen, but Packie took to the tin whistle: "I preferred something I could carry in my inside pocket!"


In 1965 he visited his first English folk festival, and the newly emerging folk revival took him to its heart. This album represents some of Packie’s finest work, mainly taken from his Veteran cassette ‘From Donegal and Back!’ plus the addition of three tracks from his seminal Topic Records album ‘Songs of a Donegal Man’, and three tracks which have never previously been released.




1. The Creel (2.43)

2. Lament to the Moon (3.57)

3. Meet an Irishman (3.01)

4. Air - Slieve Na Mban (3.35)

5. The Highwayman Outwitted (4.45)

6. Jig -The Dawn Pack (1.16)

7. Come, Come Away (2.31)

8. The Shirt my Father Wore (3.37)

9. Where is my Norah (4.36)

10. Reel - An Cualain Coo (1.17)

11. The Big Ship (1.57)

12. McCaffery (6.06)

13. Jig - Forgetting the Lesson (1.43)

14. The Barnyard (4.04)

15. The Leather Britches (4.19)

16. The Drummer Boy of Waterloo (3.19)

17. The Shores of Lough Erne (3.50)

18. Reel - Blow the Bellows (1.24)

19. Cod Liver Oil (3.01)

20. Air - Un-named (3.28)

21. The Rich Man's Daughter (5.53)

22. Rambling Irishman (2.19)


Read reviews of this album


PDF of CD booklet pages


This is now a digital download release only.


MP3 downloads are available from all major digital retailers, as full albums or individual tracks, and there you can listen to a sample of each track. The following links will take you directly to this album's page on amazon or iTunes.


Image result for amazon logo amazon.co.uk

Stepping it Out - iTunes UK








Veteran CDs & downloads

News    Veteran Mail Order welcome page    About Veteran  

English CDs    Scottish CDs    Irish CDs    American & Blues CDs    Books & DVDs

Search by English counties    Search by Instruments    Shanties & Sea Songs    Morris Dance music